THE FIQH OF HALAL MEAT
Based on a verbal Fatwa by Mufti Rafi Usmani
Raised by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani
What are some general principles related to Halal meat? Can we trust others’ word on whether the meat is Halal?
- In general, the jurists (fuqaha) mention that one can trust another’s word (Muslim or non-Muslim) that the meat has been properly Islamically slaughtered [Fatawa Hindiyya, Radd al-Muhtar].
- However, when there is reason to be cautious, it is recommended to take the means to make sure that it is in fact Halal.
- When there is ‘reasonable’ fear that this particular meat is possibly Haram–or when it is generally the case that meat labelled ‘Halal’ is dubious–then it would be one’s duty to make sure.(End of Fatwa)
Keeping the above in mind, Muslims living in this country need to ponder as to which situation relates to them. The first and second situations are both out of the question, and the reason is obvious. The third situation also does not relate to us, since there is not only ‘reasonable’ fear that the meat labelled as Halal is possibly Haram. Rather, based on the research and investigation of many individuals and organisations, the current situation is even worse – that is there is ‘extreme’ fear that a particular meat labelled as Halal may be Haram.
Therefore, one must not take another’s word at face value; rather it will be one’s duty to ensure that the meat is Halal, whether individually or through an organisation that one trusts and who would give this assurance.
And Allah knows best
Mufti Muhammad Ibn Adam Al-Kawthari
Hadith on Alcohol
The Quran and hadith concerning alcohol is very clear:
“They ask you (O Muhammad ) concerning alcoholic drink and gambling. Say: “In them is a great sin, and (some) benefit for men, but the sin of them is greater than their benefit.” And they ask you what they ought to spend. Say: “That which is beyond your needs.” Thus Allâh makes clear to you His Laws in order that you may give thought.” (sura 2 Verse 219)
Narrated Anas ibn Malik
Allah’s Messenger (PBUH) cursed ten people in connection with wine: the wine-presser, the one who has it pressed, the one who drinks it, the one who conveys it, the one to whom it is conveyed, the one who serves it, the one who sells it, the one who benefits from the price paid for it, the one who buys it, and the one for whom it is bought. (Al Tirmidhi)
Islam has always acknowledged there are benefits to alcohol use but the prohibition is still there. This is actually a very easy debate as there is no debate
Fatwa on Alcohol
FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL
Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:
Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but according to “Mufti Ba Qhool” (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.
NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL
Not all Kosher Certified food products are Halal because they do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.
The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain the following ingredients:
(1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers(animal source) (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list (9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract or Brewer’s Autolyzed Yeast or yeast extract made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making used only in cheese and cheese crackers[ but in all other products Yeast Extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker’s yeast a Halal source] (12) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol.
cholars, Experts, Consultants, Health Specialists, Nutritionalists and Environmental Health Officers. » read more
- UK: Halal meat removed from Luton school menus
- UK: Leicester schools halal lamb burger contained pork
- Saudi to host biggest food, hotel and hospitality event
- Going high-tech to keep the world’s Muslims halal
- UK: Halal meat withdrawn from schools
- The Changing World of Food Traceability
- Pakistan: Halal market has $1.3tr export potential
- Australia: Claims of supplying non Halal chicken denied
- Pak-Brazil two-way trade needs to be expanded
- Brunei Darussalam: A new era for farming and food production