Home > Consumer > Food Production > UK: Krispy Kreme proud to announce their doughnuts are halal-certified

UK: Krispy Kreme proud to announce their doughnuts are halal-certified

10/1/12  www.examiner.com

By Kara L Kraemer, Yakima Healthy Foods Examiner

For a product to be halal-certified, it must be edible, drinkable, or usable by Muslims in accordance with Islamic law. Halal refers to what is “permitted by Shariah law without punishment imposed on the doer.”

Krispy Kreme, though there is no change to their product, has recently had 16 doughnut varieties certified by the Halal Food Authority.

UK product development manager Lucy Allard commented,

“Although our doughnuts have always been suitable for a halal diet, we know the certification means a lot to many of our ­customers.”

A campaign to advertise their new gimmick will be launched with on-counter displays of the HFA logo.  (Note: The campaign does not extend to the U.S. as U.S. Krispy Kreme products are not halal certified.)

Why are Krispy Kreme doughnuts acceptable to Muslims?

All foods, according to a Halal Certificate website, are Halal foods except the following:

  • • Swine/pork and its by-products.
  • • Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering.
  • • Animals not slaughtered in the name of Allah.
  • • Alcohol and all forms of intoxicating and hazardous drinks.
  • • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, and land animals without external ears.
  • • Pests such as rats, centipedes, scorpions and other similar animals.
  • • Animals forbidden to be killed in Islam e.g. ants, bees, spider and woodpecker birds.
  • • Animals which are considered repulsive generally like lice, flies, maggots and other similar animals.
  • • Animals that live both on land and in water such as frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals.
  • • Blood and by-products of blood.
  • • Foods and drinks which contain any of the above haram ingredients or contaminated through contact with any of the above products.

Congratulations, Krispy Kreme, for meeting above standards in making your doughnuts. For accomplishing such a feat, you well deserve to associate a Muslim logo with your product.

Frivolity aside, there was some controversy a while back as to whether or not their doughnut glaze contained alcohol.  Krispy Kreme responded:

“Krispy Kreme doughnuts do not contain alcohol products manufactured to be consumed as a beverage, such as liquors, wine and beer. The glaze on Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnuts contains a specially produced flavouring that is made and approved for use according to strict FDA guidelines. This flavouring contains a small amount of ethyl alcohol, a common ingredient that, incidentally, is also naturally present in just about all fresh fruits and vegetables. The flavouring for Krispy Kreme’s glaze contains less than 2 percent ethyl alcohol, an essential ingredient for many flavourings commonly used in commercial food production. By contrast, vanilla flavouring, an ingredient widely used in many foods, such as ice cream, cakes, cookies, even animal crackers for children, contains 35 percent ethyl alcohol. It is important to note, however, that when the flavouring is mixed into the glaze recipe, it becomes less than 1 percent of the total composition, and, therefore, the ethyl alcohol content drops to less than 0.02 percent. During the cooking of the glaze, virtually all, if not all, of the ethyl alcohol is lost through evaporation.” (Source)

 United States

Brian K. Little, Director of Corporate Communications at Krispy Kreme, makes it clear that their shops in the U.S. donot carry products that are Halal certified.

Krispy Kreme also claims that all of their doughnuts are ingredient Kosher as well. 

Healthy options being added to menu.

Be Sociable, Share!