What is Halal?

Halal is an arabic word which means lawful/permissible and is a word applied to all aspects of life. The opposite is Haraam, unlawful/prohibited.

Whilst Halal and Haraam are clear, in between sometimes we find things that are unclear/doubtful/questionable, the arabic word to describe this is Mashbooh.

The word ‘Tayyib’ or ‘Tayyaban’, translated as ‘good’, ‘pure’, ‘wholesome’, etc. means pure both in the physical and the moral sense and is strongly linked to halal food but appears to be over looked or not understood otherwise we should be seeing halal foodstuff  at very high standards; nutritious, healthy, organic. Not containing ingredients likely to cause adverse health impacts when consumed in moderation.

It is compulsory for Muslims to consume Halal and tayyaban consumables.

Here the word Halal, will be used for all things consumable, used/applied.

Islam, the last religion to mankind, is a comprehensive full way of life.The holy book al, Qur’an and the sayings/actions of the last prophet Muhammad (peace he upon him) or Sunnah are the two major holy references for every Muslim for all affairs and all issues of life. Food, diet ,eating, what is allowed to eat(Halal) and what is not allowed to eat(Haram),when to eat, how to eat, what animals allowed to eat, what animals not allowed to eat, how to do(dhabh)/slaying the animal for food..? And how the teacher and the model prophet Muhammad (pbuh) did do dhabh and slayed the animal for food…all these and many more have been explained clearly and in detail in the teachings of Islam.

 

To determine the Halal-Haram status of the foodstuffs and other material, Islam has laid general guidelines on this matter, namely:

 

1. All raw materials and ingredients used must be Halal.

2. Naturally Halal animals such as cattle, goats etc., must be slaughtered according to Islamic rites, the rituals specify that the act must be performed by a mentally sound

Muslim, to sever the blood and respiratory channels of the animal, using a sharp

cutting tool such as knife.

 

All foods are considered halal except the following:

1) Swine/pork and its by-products or any derivatives.

2) Animals not slaughtered according to the Islamic requirements.

3) Alcohol and intoxicants.

4) Carnivorous animals, birds of prey.

5) Blood and blood by-products.

6) Foods contaminated with any of the above products.

7) Food products and ingredients such as enzymes, gelatin,emulsifier, are considered mashbooh and must be verified before its application.

3. The Halal ingredients must not be mixed, or come into contact with Haram materials such as products from pig or dog, during storage, transport, cooking serving etc.

  • pork or pork by products
  • animals that were dead prior to slaughtering
  • animals not slaughtered properly or not slaughtered in the name of Allah
  • blood and blood by products
  • alcohol
  • carnivorous animals
  • birds of prey
  • land animals without external ears
  • Food/drink that may cause a negative physical and mental reactions.

Please also see list of E-Number and additives from animal source: http://behalal.org/consumer/e-numbers-and-additives-are-from-animal-origin/

Praise be to Allah, Lord of the Worlds, The Beneficent, the Merciful. Owner of the Day of Judgment, Thee (alone) we worship; Thee (alone) we ask for help. Show us the straight path, The path of those whom Thou hast favoured. Not (the path) of those who earn Thine anger nor of those who go astray.

(Al-Fatiha; Quran)

Be Sociable, Share!